Can I Trespass?

Being a beginner photographer, I am uncomfortable crossing the line.  If you are a  photographer, you know ‘the line.”  The line is when to take a chance for a photograph or not.

Being a beginner photographer, I am uncomfortable crossing the line.  If you are a  photographer, you know “the line.”  The line is when to take a chance for a photograph or not.  Most of the time, the line is when there is an old abandoned structure, a beautiful landscape, street photography or a boat.  Yes, you read correctly, a boat!

Stranger #4, Martin, has the boat!  Let’s go back to October of 2017.  Stranger # 4, is not a new stranger but still basically a stranger.   We actually meet him in October, 2017.  I did not feel comfortable asking for his photograph, however, I vowed to myself, if I ever talked to Martin again, he would definitely be part of the blog.

Bon Secour Bay is located in Baldwin County on the eastern edge of Mobile Bay.  The name “Bon Secour” derives from the France phrase meaning “safe harbor.”  The town is home to large water oak trees covered in Spanish Moss, great blue herons, brown pelicans, dolphins, and the occasional alligator.  Shrimp boats line the river beds and are used by the locals as a primary source of income.    You will find some great markets with fresh seafood.  We love Billy’s Seafood.  Always willing to let us take a few photographs on his pier.

Hurricanes are very unpredictable and once they make landfall, the damage can be devastating with destroyed structures and flooding.   Bon Secour has seen it’s share of Hurricane landfalls.  Hurricane Frederick, Ivan and Katrina have all affected this little town.  Anna and I had heard about Bon Secour and we decided to visit.

In 2004, Hurricane Ivan made landfall just a few miles from Bon Secour, causing extensive wind and flooding damage.  Currently you will find old shrimp boats lining the shores of Bon Secour which have become an attraction for photographers.  Martin is now the proud owner of the “Morning Star.”  Even though he does not feel all that proud.

Back to Martin!  Anna and I travel this route every time we visit the Coast.  We had visited several times and always find ourselves driving back and forth from Billy’s Seafood to Aquila Seafood.  In between, you will find old shrimp boats that have been washed ashore during Hurricane Ivan.  They have so much character and patina from years of salt water and weather wear.  Absolutely stunning structures.

I had finished up at Billy’s Seafood photographing my usual shrimp boat, they Teri Malynn.  And headed east toward Aquila.  As we approached the Morning Star, we noticed a man in his driveway directly across the street from the shipwrecked boat.  I asked Anna to slow down and I said, “excuse me, is that your boat?'”

Little did we know that we would then spend 2 hours talking with Martin about everything from the history of the Morning Star to the best gumbo ever!  He talked about his house, his family, his job and every thing in between.  It was so much fun listening to him talk with his southern draw mixed with a tad of Louisiana accent.  He would pause briefly to spit from the tobacco in his mouth.

“Listening is a form of spiritual hospitality by which you invite strangers to become friends, to get to know their inner selves more fully, and even to dare to be silent with you.” – Henri Nouwen

“You know, ma’am, you are only the third person that has ever asked to photograph the boat.  You know, I don’t know what happens when I am not here, but I have looked outside and find people taking photographs from my pier.  They ignore my no trespassing signs,” he says.  He continues, “and I appreciate that.”  He is mainly concerned about people getting hurt.  The boat is tilted to the side and over the years the only support is an oak tree that is growing up beside the boat.  He explains all the people he has contacted to get the boat removed but it will involve so many government agencies since the hull is full of oil.  He did mention he contacted the owner several times and the owner has since died.  What we, as a photographer, get excited at such a great abandoned find, Martin doesn’t necessarily share our enthusiasm.

Martin gave us his phone number and told us to call the next time we were in town.  He would take us out on the boat and let me photograph the boat from the water.  He told us he would make us the best gumbo we would ever have eaten.  “Well, I wouldn’t say it’s the best, but I can tell you, it would be different,” he says in a humble way.  He tells us a little about how he makes the gumbo and his family recipe.

We returned to Bon Secour in February, while we visited the coast.  We took our traditional drive to Bon Secour and found Martin in his driveway.  “Do you remember us,” I say.  Martin did remember us from October.  We talk for about an hour and promised we would visit again.  I ask Martin, to not let anyone take the boat while I am gone or anyone else get that million dollar photograph.  He promised to put larger no trespassing signs in his yard.  Does any other photographers really follow the no trespassing signs?

-tina

 

Author: onehundredstrangersblog

I am an amateur photographer who is practicing with a Canon 80d. I enjoy all types of photography, however, I am particularly drawn to portraits. I am a Mom, a daughter, a grandmother, a sister, a friend, a wife, a co-worker, and many other things. I am discovering that I like photography, hiking, writing, painting, waterfalls, the beach, Justin Bieber, family, history, art museums, a walk down memory lane, just to name a few. I do not like conflict, arguing, being right, being wrong, onions, bellpeppers, and tomatoes. I believe in God and that social media is providing our nation with a excuses, excuses to be mean, to ignore, to be silent, cause commotion, to self promote, self entitlement, self awareness, raise awareness, raise funds, prayer chains, etc. All of these things have brought me to where I am today and the onehundredstrangers #justbenice project.

2 thoughts on “Can I Trespass?”

  1. This is a great story and a great portrait, it sounds as though Martin really enjoys your company however brief the visit! You seem to take nothing for granted either, taking your time to know the story behind the boats and Martin’s story as well. Glad to have happened by your blog.

    Like

Leave a comment